Time To Go Dark Like William Blake

ssronnie

“While My Dog and Me Were Sailing the Seven Seas, Adults Worldwide Were Stockpiling Nuclear Weapons of Annihilation” 2016. Acrylic on canvas, 14 x 11″

William Blake to his wife:

“What do we do, Kate, when the visions forsake us?”

“We kneel down and pray, Mr. Blake.”

Then the two might stare into the fire and draw pictures of what each saw in it. Maybe Kate would see a flower in a vase, and Blake would sketch a reaper. Some tea and bread, call of a night bird, the chamber pot and then bed.

It is time to live the life of a mute prophet who expresses himself nightly by ringing the house bell. I married well. I am fortunate. I do not need another president, a television, or a cereal box. I need to live more like William Blake with access to 21st century plumbing. There will always be demons to leap from the flames. There will always be hell is other people. I need a feel from the following verse by Van Morrison in “Alan Watts Blues”:

Well I’ve got to get out of the rat-race now
I’m tired of the ways of mice and men
And the empires all turning into rust again.
Out of everything nothing remains the same
That’s why I’m cloud hidden
Cloud hidden
Whereabouts unknown

Then Kate and I will pray.

 

Leave a Reply

