DeMott House With Inordinate Amount of Prussian Blue and Grand Experiment

DeMott

2015. Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 24″

A friend of mine liked my idea of painters trading their work, in order to keep the business of art less fretful. Who better than a painter to revere the colored rectangle of another? I appreciate his time and effort, and I don’t have to feel “taken” in a world gone so wrong that for many, buying Twix Bars® in bulk poses no existential irony, yet to think about trusting oneself a subjective high opinion, followed by a purchase of a stranger’s art, is so uncomfortable as to be practically obscene. Just take a walk throughout an American home and ask the residents to point out the original art purchased without pity. You might have to climb over a pile of forgotten garage sale country crafts in the basement before stumbling upon one true expression.

Please watch this video showing my thoughts exactly, followed by a brief reaction:

Banksy in New York (in October 2013)

So Banksy made 420 dollars. Is that a problem?
That’s enough spray paint and stencils for a week, several omelets, and a warm coat at the sharing store. I don’t see the irony. I see a very lucky artist. I also see why McDonald’s and Walmart mean so much to us in our gentle insides. We peasants at the altar of the cult of art praying out the wet dreams of businessmen in Italian suits. Bishop Banksy has been made. The Pope is any millionaire ready to invest. The common man does not want a black and white original Banksy except to behave like a millionaire. Isn’t it obvious? The canvases on sale in New York that day were worth more than the art that was printed on them. Banksy knows. I know. What lovers of art and artist need to do now is stop worshiping false idols, get up off their lazy crumps, make their own art, or find what their own private wonder loves, and pray to it. David Geffen is a dirty old man. Art should never have made this toad richer. Ralph and Ricki Lauren would buy a Banksy to show their textile slaves how to work harder for less money. We need to devalue their pieces now. We must de-gentrify the crap they are over-valuing, especially the historical stuff, which is our crap, humanities’ crap. In order to make it Native American like lovers carving initials into oak, we need to congratulate the old dude who made a killing on the street back in 2013. On Sotheby’s auction day, a hundred of our most famous must sell their work on the street for a song. Mock every tuxedo they see with a $25.00 original for sale. The bubble will burst only when we stop graduating out of industrial universities more “Hey Spikes!” to tell us what we should like. Christies is hawking porch furniture to gated communities in my art market dreams of the future. Men and women artists are drinking beer along the roadside, playing cards and thinking about dinner.

A couple hundred people bothering to look at a Banksy stall, but seeing an old man artist instead. Yet he still sold six pieces that day! In the Ron Throop world of rural wonder, those sales would account as my greatest success thus far as a painter. So I want to perform a little experiment. Please join me and pass it on to all and sundry. The Internet is touted as the great equalizer. Thanks to Net Neutrality I can project my business onto the eyes of a billion people, just like Proctor and Gamble, or to be more fair, I can be like any Chinese factory mass-producing the mantle-top hourglass that Target sells in Housewares. In theory this is very true. Practical art like scented bath products sell well on Etsy and other sites. However, in America, the visual, non-practical art is shunned like measles. More people trust visual art displayed in a department store that what they discern with their own eyes on a street or Internet.

Here is my hypothesis:

Yesterday I put up for auction on Ebay a painting that is subjectively liked enough to have been posted on Hyperallergic’s Tumblr site. So according to the taste of an established New York blogazine, an original Ron Throop painting has passed into the field of “art that is worth looking at”. I have put up work on Ebay before, linked it from my blog, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, etc., and have never received even one bid. This is not sour grapes. For if my hypothesis becomes proven theory, it will add positively to the growing research tome of market psychology. We all buy useless stuff. However, just a teensy tiny fraction of people with extra widget purchasing power will risk art not authenticated by an institution.

Here is the auction link. It’s not an offensive painting. It’s even a bit pretty with an ambiguous twist in the title. It would look good in a bathroom and friends would ask you about it, I am certain.

Just pass it on. Play the game. I have not bought art online either, and there is some wonderful work I see every day. I don’t know why I won’t trust my own eyes, and I would like to get to the bottom of this curiosity. Today, for good karma, I will seek the purchase of work from another.

Richard Bledsoe, please suggest a painting that you can let go of for $200.00. I would like to place it on lay-away for an upcoming gift to my wife on Christmas. However, one caveat if you have not been insulted by my low offer: There will be no tit-for-tat. You are not allowed to bid on the aforementioned Ebay piece up for auction. You can contact me via Facebook message. Thank you.

There now. Let’s experiment!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

