Where I Make the Coldtonguecoldhamcoldbeefpickledgherkinssaladfrenchrollscresssandwidgespottedmeatgingerbeerlemonadesodawater

1:12:15

Sorry for the long title. It’s what Ratty made in his trunk kitchen for picnicking on the lazy river with Mole from the 1908 smash hit novel, Wind in the Willows, by Kenneth Grahame. Row boating after quite a lot of work preparing and packing coldtonguecoldhamcoldbeefpickledgherkinssaladfrenchrollscresssandwidgespottedmeatgingerbeerlemonadesodawater.

This is a painting of my kitchen, where I spend the majority of my wakeful hours each day. Oops. I stuck a “J” in. Guess I couldn’t resist the text. Still, a single letter besides “I” can’t have an opinion that matters much anyway. My wife thought it referenced a jack-of-hearts in a card deck. No, it’s the “J” in Joy of Cooking, by Rombauer and Rombauer Becker.

It’s been twenty-odd years and I am still teaching myself to paint. These studies shall make a turning point in my vocation, which, because I rarely get paid, remains just a vacation.

Better get back to the chowder. There are those near and dear to me, who await my worth as home-cook-who-paints.

 

Leave a Reply

