I Love You More Than Madness More Than Dreams Upon The Sea

I Love You More Than Madness More Than Dreams Upon the Sea

I Love You More Than Madness More Than Dreams Upon The Sea 2013. Acrylic on panel board, 64 x 48″

by Ron Throop

Last October, I had a home show commemorating my wife Rose’s 40th birthday. I began work in August like a possessed man. Besides painting, I edited and published a book of letters that I wrote during courtship. The letters and the paintings became one in the same thing. I was sensing back in time like a medium, and the work came out more alive than the younger man Ron Throop ever was. The catalyst was love and love’s rejuvenation. Each day’s work was infused with the energy of falling love.

The painting shares a lyric from Dylan’s Wedding Song. Powerful. True. Maybe I’ll do it again this year.

More here.

Leave a Reply

