Mortality Smortality In 40 Hours Or Less

Dallas Contemporary Tumblr’d me, so I advertise my gratitude.

Tam and Friends

Mortality Smortality Mortality Smortality. 2014. Acrylic on panelboard, 64 x 48″

My flyer to be handed out at a show in two weeks:

Art is Work

Actually, in this case, painting is work. I have never considered myself to be an artist, really. I don’t even like “art”, the way my art-lover friend Dan does, one to leap at the chance to visit a gallery or a museum. I love painting though, any kind, and at an art show, I will make a bee line past all other forms of expression to see work of painters, more to learn and compare than to enjoy. Some times professional jealousy creeps in, especially when I see rendering that has a special hair shirt quality, when each stroke of the brush belies both a practical and encyclopedic knowledge of control or constipation—hard to tell which for sure until I meet the painter for beer and…

View original post 2,103 more words

Leave a Reply

